Abaca rush

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

It is a fact that old familiar names of people, places, and even our favorite basketball teams cling on to our minds even though they have already been replaced with new ones. The same thing is true with the street names in Davao City that even after decades, people prefer to call it with the old familiar names rather than its present names. Here are some:

Old Familiar Name                                    Present  Name

1. Claveria St.                                          C.M. Recto St.

2. Uyanguren St.                                      R. Magsaysay Ave.

3. Magallanes St.                                      A. Pichon St.

4. Anda St.                                              F. Iñigo St.

5. Legaspi St.                                           P. Pelayo St.

Davao under Spanish rule

Posted: October 31, 2011 in Spanish era

As I mentioned in my previous post dated January 24, 2011, The Spanish invasion of Davao, it was in 1848 when the Spanish authorities officially colonized Davao. The present day Davao City was called Nueva Vergara and the entire region as Nueva Guipozcoa.  However, in some fifty years of Spanish rule, they found themselves struggling to gain control of Davao. The natives with whom the colonizers were trying to subjugate were scattered in a large territory. To make it worse, the inhabitants lived in a semi-nomadic life that proved to be a huge hindrance for the Spaniards to govern.

To be continued

Reference: DAVAO: Reconstructing History from Text and Memory by Macario D. Tiu

Remembering Elias B. Lopez

Posted: September 30, 2011 in People

It was in 1994 when I had the chance to take a closer look at the man named Elias B. Lopez. Our school invited him to give us a light on the then proposed shift to unicameral congress, which was then the most divisive issue. It thrilled me to listen before a congressman share his insights about the matter. However, the audience was limited to a chosen few composed mostly of college students, the faculty and the school administration. I was in high school then, so I wasn’t allowed to get inside the venue.

My curiosity and enthusiasm bothered me much and I knew it was one of the rare occasions I could catch up a person with that prominence give a talk right before my very eyes.  With it, I asked permission from our school principal to be one among those lucky audience which she eventually gave in to my request after my constant insistence. Read the rest of this entry »

Located at the easternmost part of the region, Davao Oriental boasts of its pristine beaches, laid back lifestyle and good governance.  The province was created in 1967 with the division of the original Davao Province. Let’s take a look at the people who steered this province to greater heights over the years:

1. Poncano Bangoy (1967)

2. Leopoldo N. Lopez (1968 – 1971, 1987 – 1987, 1988 – 1991)

3. Teodoro Palma Gil (1972 – 1978, 1987 – 1988)

4. Francisco G. Rabat (1978 – 1986)

5. Josefina S. Sibala (1986 – 1987, 1991 -1992)

6. Rosalind Y. Lopez (1992 – 2001)

7. Maria Elena T. Palma Gil (2001 – 2007)

8. Corazon T. Malanyaon (2007 – present)

Reference: http://www.davaoorientalnow.com

The province was carved out of Davao del Norte in 1998 by virtue of Republic Act 8470. It encompasses eleven municipalities, mostly situated on the eastern part of the then undivided Davao del Norte. Upon its ratification, Prospero S. Amatong , long-time governor and congressman of Davao del Norte who hailed from Nabunturan town became the interim governor  of the newly created province in 1998. Jose R. Caballero, on the other hand, became the first elected governor on the same year.  Caballero served as ComVal’s chief executive  for three terms until 2007. Businessman and former Provincial Board Member Arturo R. Uy won the gubernatorial seat in the 2010 elections making him the second elected governor of Compostela Province.

The establishment of the Malolos Republic marked a significant event in Philippine history.  Also known as the First Philippine Republic, the Malolos Republic confirmed the independence of the Philippines from Spain. With the transfer of the seat of government from Bacoor, Cavite to Malolos, Bulacan, the Revolutionary Congress was inaugurated on September 15, 1898.

On the same day, the Congress elected the officers namely Pedro Paterno as President; Benito Legarda as Vice-President; Gregorio Araneta and Pablo Ocampo as secretaries. Pablo Tecson later replaced Araneta. Including the officers, 93 people took part of the Congress representing almost the entire Philippines. Read the rest of this entry »